Mitcham Common is managed and regulated by Mitcham Common Conservators who have been the legal custodians of the Common since 1891.


About the Conservators

george-bidderThe Mitcham Common Conservators have been managing the Common since 1891. Prior to that time there had been considerable unrest amoungst local people at level of gravel extraction and turf removal which they regarded as the plundering of the Common’s resources. At the forefront of this opposition was George Parker Bidder QC, who lobbied for the Common to be protected. Eventually this led to the Metropolitan Commons (Mitcham) Act 1891, which empowered the Conservators to manage the Common and make byelaws to protect it.


bidder-monumentThe Board of Conservators is made up of 13 members nominated by the London Boroughs of Croydon, Merton and Sutton (4 each), and the City of London Corporation.

The Conservators meet quarterly at the Mill House Ecology Centre.

Meeting Agendas and Minutes are available here


Current Conservators

London Borough of Croydon
Councillor Timothy Godfrey
Councillor Stuart King
Councillor Maggie Mansell
Mr John Cheetham

London Borough of Merton

Councillor Nick Draper
Councillor Russell Makin
Councillor Ian Munn
Mr Maurice Groves

London Borough of Sutton

Mr Richard Bailey
Dr Derek Coleman
Ms Julia Russell
Councillor Chris Williams

Corporation of the City of London

Ms Anne Fairweather